The Commandments of God

To love God, our neighbor, and ourselves, we must keep the Commandments of God and of the Church, and do acts of mercy.

The Ten Commandments are also called simply The Commandments, Commandments of God, or The Decalogue.

The 10 Commandments of God

  1. I am the Lord thy God; thou shalt not have strange gods before Me.

  2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord, thy God, in vain.

  3. Remember that thou keep holy the Sabbath day.

  4. Honour thy father and thy mother.

  5. Thou shalt not kill.

  6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

  7. Thou shalt not steal.

  8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.

  9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.

  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.

The Commandments of God are the best guide you can have to a good life.

I met a young unmarried woman, who'd had two abortions. What I noticed most about her was a troubling sadness. She was looking for love, but men were just using her.

She made me realize how fragile all of us are. And how strong is our need to be loved. God knows all of this. Out of love and to keep us from being hurt, He gave us His commandments.

The Nicene Creed

In the first few centuries after Christ’s resurrection, Christians were continually asked, “What do you believe?” The Apostle’s Creed was the first summary of what the twelve apostles believed and taught. The Nicene Creed is a more complete and formal statement of the Faith. It dates from AD 325 when the bishops of the Church met at the famous Council of Nicaea. The Nicene Creed is a rich resume of what catholics believe.

I believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty,
Maker of heaven and earth, of all that is seen and unseen.

I believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ,
the only Son of God, eternally begotten of the Father,
God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God,
begotten, not made, one in Being with the Father.

Through him all things were made.
For us men and for our salvation he came down from heaven:
by the power of the Holy Spirit
he was born of the Virgin Mary, and became man.

For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate;
he suffered, died, and was buried.
On the third day he rose again in fulfillment of the Scriptures;
he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead,
and his kingdom will have no end.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life,
who proceeds from the Father and the Son.
With the Father and the Son he is worshiped and glorified.
He has spoken through the prophets.

I believe in one holy catholic and apostolic Church.
I acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.
I look for the resurrection of the dead,
and the life of the world to come. Amen

The Eucharist

Return from The Commandments of God to Home Page